Fast solutions for complex problems

How many countries participate in Commonwealth Games?

54 countries
There are 54 countries in the Commonwealth, in Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific.

How many countries participated in the first Commonwealth Games?

11 countries
The first Commonwealth Games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada, where 11 countries sent 400 athletes to take part in six sports and 59 events. Since then, the Games have been conducted every four years (except for 1942 and 1946 due to World War II) and the event has seen many changes, not least in its name.

How many countries participated in Commonwealth 2010?

71 Commonwealth nations
Throughout the course of the Games, 6,081 athletes from 71 Commonwealth nations and dependencies competed in 21 sports and 272 events. These numbers therefore made the 2010 New Delhi Commonwealth Games the largest to date. The Games finished with the Closing Ceremony on October 14.

In which country the first Commonwealth Youth Games was held?

Edinburgh, Scotland
The first edition of the Commonwealth Youth Games were held in Edinburgh, Scotland from 10–14 August 2000. 15 countries contested 483 medals over 3 days of competition in 8 sports. A total of 773 athletes, 280 Technical Officials and around 500 volunteers participated in the event.

Is USA a Commonwealth country?

Although historically connected to the British Empire, any country can apply to be a member of the Commonwealth, regardless of its intersection with Britain’s colonial past. The Commonwealth consists of 54 countries, including the United Kingdom.

Which countries does the queen rule?

Queen Elizabeth II is also the Sovereign of 15 countries in the Commonwealth of Nations: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the Solomon Islands, and Tuvalu.

Which country has won the most Commonwealth Games medals?

Medal Standings

Rank Nation Total
1 Australia 198
2 England 136
3 India 66
4 Canada 82

Why is USA not in Commonwealth?

One of the reasons why the US has not already joined the Commonwealth may have to do with how the US gained its independence from the British during colonial times. Unlike other countries that were colonized by the British, the US had an extremely brutal war with the UK.

Who won the gold medal in 2010 Commonwealth Games?


Medal Name Event
Gold Abhinav Bindra Gagan Narang Men’s 10m Air rifle pairs
Gold Anisa Sayyed Rahi Sarnobat Women’s 25m pistol pairs
Gold Ravinder Singh Men’s Greco-Roman 60 kg
Gold Anil Kumar Men’s Greco-Roman 96 kg

Which country will host the 7th Commonwealth Youth Games in 2023?

Trinidad and Tobago
The 2021 Commonwealth Youth Games was on 1st May postponed to 2023 because of clash of dates with Tokyo Olympics, which has been pushed back by a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The seventh Commonwealth Youth Games were set to take place ‪from 1-7 August 2021 in Trinidad and Tobago.

Why is US not in Commonwealth?

Is Australia still under British rule?

Australia is a constitutional monarchy with The Queen as Sovereign. As a constitutional monarch, The Queen, by convention, is not involved in the day-to-day business of the Australian Government, but she continues to play important ceremonial and symbolic roles. The Queen’s relationship to Australia is unique.

Where was the first Commonwealth Youth Games held?

The first ever Commonwealth Youth Games were held in Edinburgh, Scotland in August 2000 . There were 733 participating athletes from 14 countries. They competed in 8 sports for 3 days. The second edition of the CYG was held in Bendigo, Australia in December 2004.

Where can I find list of countries that have participated in the Commonwealth Games?

See also the list of past participating countries and territories, and maybe some that may participate in the future. The abbreviation used at the Games is listed next to the country name. Follow the links for information specific to that country at the Commonwealth Games. (see also the same list sorted by region)

How old do you have to be to compete in the Commonwealth Youth Games?

The Commonwealth Youth Games is a smaller version of the Commonwealth Games designed for the youth of the 71 Commonwealth countries. The competitors of the Youth Games have to be at least 14 and at the most 18, in the year of competition. A maximum number of 1,000 competitors are encouraged to take part from every Commonwealth Games Association.

Where was the 2014 Commonwealth Games held in Scotland?

During the 21st century. The 2014 Commonwealth Games were held in Glasgow, Scotland. It was the largest multi-sport event ever held in Scotland with around 4,950 athletes from 71 different nations and territories competing in 18 different sports, outranking the 1970 and 1986 Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh,…