Fast solutions for complex problems

What type of life cycle has both a haploid and diploid multicellular stage?

The zygote immediately undergoes meiosis to form four haploid cells called spores (Figure 7.2 b). The third life-cycle type, employed by some algae and all plants, is called alternation of generations. These species have both haploid and diploid multicellular organisms as part of their life cycle.

What is the only thing in the human life cycle that is haploid?

Haploid is the quality of a cell or organism having a single set of chromosomes. Organisms that reproduce asexually are haploid. Sexually reproducing organisms are diploid (having two sets of chromosomes, one from each parent). In humans, only their egg and sperm cells are haploid.

Is the diploid phase unicellular?

haplontic life cycle — the haploid stage is multicellular and the diploid stage is a single cell, meiosis is “zygotic”. diplontic life cycle — the diploid stage is multicellular and haploid gametes are formed, meiosis is “gametic”.

What are the three types of life cycles?

In regard to its ploidy, there are three types of cycles; haplontic life cycle, diplontic life cycle, diplobiontic life cycle. These three types of cycles feature alternating haploid and diploid phases (n and 2n).

What is fungi life cycle?

The life cycle of fungi can follow many different patterns. For most of the molds indoors, fungi are considered to go through a four-stage life cycle: spore, germ, hypha, mature mycelium. Brundrett (1990) showed the same cycle pattern using an alternative diagram of the developmental stages of a mould.

What is the multicellular diploid stage?

In the diploid-dominant life cycle, the multicellular diploid stage is the most obvious life stage, as occurs with most animals, including humans. Nearly all animals employ a diploid-dominant life cycle strategy in which the only haploid cells produced by the organism are the gametes.

What is butterfly life cycle?

The butterfly and moth develop through a process called metamorphosis. There are four stages in the metamorphosis of butterflies and moths: egg, larva, pupa, and adult. …

What is a biphasic life cycle?

The biphasic life cycle arose early in evolution, then, shortly after the first multicellular organisms evolved as clones of flagellated cells linked together by interactions through ECM; selective pressures acting independently on the two phases of the life cycle led to the origin of the different metazoan tissue …

Which is the diploid phase in life cycle of a plant?

The zygote is the diploid phase in a plant with a haplontic life cycle.

Do humans have a Diplontic life cycle?

Humans have a diplontic life cycle because the multicellular stage is diploid. The zygote grows by mitosis into a diploid, multicellular organism. Part of this multicellular organism undergoes meiosis to produce haploid cells called gametes within structures called gametangia (gametangium, singular).

What type of life cycle do humans have?

Humans and most animals have this type of life cycle. In a haploid-dominant life cycle, the multicellular (or sometimes unicellular) haploid stage is the most obvious life stage and is often multicellular. In this type of life cycle, the single-celled zygote is the only diploid cell.

What are the 7 life stages?

The major stages of the human lifecycle include pregnancy, infancy, the toddler years, childhood, puberty, older adolescence, adulthood, middle age, and the senior years. Proper nutrition and exercise ensure health and wellness at each stage of the human lifecycle.

What kind of alga has a haploid life cycle?

Colonial alga such as red alga, brown alga, and green alga and filamentous alga such as red, green, and brown alga all exhibit haploid life cycle. A general life history includes both a 1n stage and a 2n stage separated by meiosisand syngamy. Before meiosis, the individual is diploidzygote.

Which is an example of a haploid life history?

Syngamy occurs when the sperm and egg fuse and forms the zygote (2n). The 2n zygote then developes into the filamentous green algae. Another example is found in the fungi kingdom. Rhizopus nigricans , or black bread mold, also has a haploid life history. R. nigricans is a coenocytic, or tubular fungus (zygomycota).

Where are mitospores located in the haploid life cycle?

In the first process, zoospores (mitospores) escape from the zoosporangium which is located in the parent algae and they develope into filaments. The parent also contains antheridiawhich produce sperm(1n) and an oogoniumwhich produces the egg(1n).

When does a zygote become a haploid spore?

After the zygote goes through meiosis, it develops into a haploid(1n) spore or some other 1n structure. Meiosis produces four cells from each zygote and these four cells can be spores or other structure, depending on the organism. The four cells would then go through mitosis and become the organism.