Fast solutions for complex problems

What were the states in 1788?

The colonies became part of the United States in 1788 with the merging of New Hampshire as the ninth state to ratify the United States Constitution….States. Ranked by Date that State Entered the Union.

1 Delaware December 7, 1787
2 Pennsylvania December 12, 1787
3 New Jersey December 18, 1787
4 Georgia January 2, 1788

How many states were there in 1788?

Eight states
A further ten states along the eastern seaboard made up the original 13 states of the United States of America. Eight states were ratified in 1788, followed by North Carolina in November 1789 and Rhode Island in May 1790.

What happened in the United states in 1788?

On June 21, 1788, the Constitution became the official framework of the government of the United States of America when New Hampshire became the ninth of 13 states to ratify it.

In what order were the states founded?

Dates of Succession to the Union

1 Delaware 1787
26 Michigan 1837
27 Florida 1845
28 Texas 1845
29 Iowa 1846

What was the 1st state?

“The First State” Delaware is known by this nickname due to the fact that on December 7, 1787, it became the first of the 13 original states to ratify the U.S. Constitution. “The First State” became the official State nickname on May 23, 2002 following a request by Mrs.

What are the 4 smallest states?

Ten Smallest States

Rank State Total Area (km2)
1 Rhode Island 3,144
2 Delaware 5,130
3 Connecticut 14,357
4 New Jersey 22,591

Who was president of the United States in 1788?

It was held from Monday, December 15, 1788, to Saturday, January 10, 1789, under the new Constitution ratified in 1788. George Washington was unanimously elected for the first of his two terms as president, and John Adams became the first vice president.

What war was going on in 1787?

History of the United States (1776–1789) Timeline of the American Revolution.

What was the last 2 states?

There are fifty (50) states and Washington D.C.The last two states to join the Union were Alaska (49th) and Hawaii (50th). Both joined in 1959.

What were the 13 original states in order?

The United States of America initially consisted of 13 states that had been British colonies until their independence was declared in 1776 and verified by the Treaty of Paris in 1783: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware.

Who was the 4th state to ratify the Constitution in 1788?

Events from the year 1788 in the United States . January 2 – Georgia ratifies the United States Constitution and becomes the 4th U.S. state under the new government ( see History of Georgia ). January 9 – Connecticut ratifies the United States Constitution and becomes the 5th U.S. state ( see History of Connecticut ).

When did the first 13 states become States?

List of U.S. states by date of admission to the Union. The first 13 became states in July 1776 when they agreed to the United States Declaration of Independence. Each of those 13 agreed to the first U.S. constitution, called the Articles of Confederation, which formed the first Union of states between 1777 and 1781.

How many states were admitted to the Union in 1787?

The order in which the original 13 states ratified the 1787 Constitution, then the order in which the others were admitted to the union. A state of the United States is one of the 50 constituent entities that shares its sovereignty with the federal government.

Where was the state of Franklin located in 1784?

On August 23, 1784, delegates from the North Carolina counties of Washington (which at the time included present-day Carter County ), Sullivan, Spencer (now Hawkins County) and Greene —all of which are in present-day Tennessee —convened in the town of Jonesborough.